Auto Injury Massage Therapy
If your car was injured, your body has probably sustained damage as well.
Oregonians should know that their auto insurance pays for massage therapy to help recover from auto accidents. If you’ve opened a claim with your auto insurance company, your next step is to call us. We'll take care of the details and make it easy for you to begin your massage treatments.
All auto insurance policies in the State of Oregon include Personal Injury Protection (PIP). This extension of your insurance will pay for your massage therapy, regardless of who was determined to be “at fault.” This coverage allows you to be treated for your auto accident related injuries with a simple referral from your chiropractor, naturopath, osteopath, or medical doctor.
Our massage team has thousands of hours of experience providing medical massage therapy for auto accident recovery. It is often the body’s soft tissues (muscles, tendons and other connective tissues) that are injured in auto accidents. The therapists at Siskiyou Massage are highly skilled in treating auto accident injuries, including whiplash, neck and back injuries, tendon damage, muscle spasms, myofascial pain, headaches, migraines, and insomnia.
Auto Injury/Medical Massage
"Medical massage" refers to massage techniques that are used as part of an overall treatment for medical problems stemming from trauma to the body. This form of massage is often, but not always, done under the instruction of a physician, and focuses on the affected area(s).
Your therapist will conduct a thorough health intake during each massage session and develop a personalized treatment plan for your injury. Your massage may include advanced myofascial techniques, craniosacral therapy, deep tissue techniques, relax and contract techniques, and/or post-isometric relaxation techniques on the affected muscles and joints.
Therapists will document your progress and work closely with other health care providers to provide you with the best care. At regular intervals, your therapist will send progress reports to your referring physician(s) to keep them up to date on how your treatments are going.
Bring the following to your first visit:
- Name of insurance company
- Name and phone number of your insurance representative
- Claim number
- A prescription for massage therapy from your doctor (M.D., Chiropractor, Osteopath or Naturopath)
Ask your doctor for a prescription. We keep the referring doctor informed of your progress through regular Patient Status Reports and are happy to speak directly with them at any time if they have questions or suggestions.
Your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage will pay for massage treatments relevant to your injuries for up to 2 years from the date of the accident, or until your PIP benefits are exhausted (check with your insurance company for specifics). It is important, therefore, to know the approximate balance of your PIP benefits throughout this time of healing.*
We bill the most current rate set for massage therapy and manual therapy by the State of Oregon Worker's Compensation Fee Schedule. The current rate as of April 1, 2018 is $51.90 per 15 minute unit for massage therapy and $47.13 per unit for manual therapy. We offer a significant discount for payments made at the time of service. Please see our Rates page for more details.
*Insurance policies and laws vary from state to state and from one policy to another. These are general statements and may or may not reflect your own policy. Please inform yourself about your own coverage.